Gear Guide: GoPro HD Hero 2 Wedding Bouquet Camera

This week’s Gear Guide video is a bit different, but I think you’ll enjoy it.  I’m sure it’s no surprise, but I was the videographer for my own wedding. I used my Panasonic TM700 and two GoPro cameras for a total of 3 camera angles. Here’s the best part though, one of those GoPro cameras was in my wife’s bouquet. It captured a very memorable, first person viewpoint of her walk down the aisle — the celebration afterward, and all those moments in between. I did a bit of research, but I couldn’t find any other references to people hiding video cameras in the bouquet — so this may very well be an internet first. Another internet first is seeing me in a suit.

13 Responses to “Gear Guide: GoPro HD Hero 2 Wedding Bouquet Camera”

  1. steeptrails Says:

    Very clever, and some great footage as a result. FWIW, I counted three “firsts”:

    1) The bouquet cam
    2) Ben in a suit (well it’s a first for us)
    3) A Ben Horne Double Feature on your blog

    Your cleverness is actually very inspiring. Thanks for sharing this. You guys make a great looking couple; you look very happy. Congratulations, again…

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks! This is likely the last time you’ll see me in a suit — unless I decide to be an especially sharp dresser on one of my trips. What color belt should I wear with my Hiking boots though?

  2. Steve Perry Says:

    Congrats!

    And what a sweet idea with the video cam! A long time ago I used to shoot weddings and we also did video – would have been cool to do something like that for our clients. I think you’re idea is gonna get copied – a lot!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      We had so much fun with the bouquet cam. It’s something we’ll look back on many many years from now and enjoy. I sure hope a lot of people copy us with this idea. It takes a bit of work to make, but it’s totally worth it.

  3. marcuslalanne Says:

    Bokehlicious good set of vids.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks man. If it hadn’t already taken the bouquet apart, I would totally loan it to you for some nights out on the town.

  4. Jason Buscema Says:

    First off, congratulations to you both! Great idea w/ the GoPro in the bouquet. I love the look of the “raw”, first person video. Makes it feel so much more real and you don’t have people knowing the camera is in their face. Very cool idea! Wish you guys all the best in your new life together.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Jason! I’m still surprised that no one else thought about doing that. It was able to record such great moments!

  5. Laura Says:

    Congrats again Ben, and it was nice meeting you in person yesterday. Looking forward to the next set of videos!!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Laura. I’ll downloading the footage from my latest trip as I type this. I’m looking forward to getting the film developed!

  6. Uniek cameraperspectief op trouwerij met GoPro’s HD Hero - TEED.nl | TEED.nl Says:

    […] met hoge mate van bindingsangst zullen nu misschien afhaken, want Ben Horne wilde graag unieke beelden maken van z’n trouwerij. Hij plaatste daarom een HD Hero 2 in het […]

  7. GOPRO HD WEDDING BOUQUET CAMERA | CourtneyGoGo Says:

    […] See how he made it! Source […]

  8. Jayson Says:

    I blog often and I truly thank you for your information.

    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your site and keep checking for new information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed too.

Leave a comment