Death Valley 2015: Day 1

Here is my video journal from Day 1 of my January 2015 trip to Death Valley. I think the video pretty much sums everything up. Thanks for watching and sharing!

6 Responses to “Death Valley 2015: Day 1”

  1. Lyrical Soul Says:

    Wishing you joy and contentment in your photographic endeavors.

  2. Matthew Saville Says:

    I actually really like the shot! The only thing I lament is the slight touching of the curve of the dune ridge against the left edge; other than that this is a masterpiece.

    I greatly appreciate how you can find such amazing imagery without the need for insane ultrawide angles, or extreme weather phenomenon, as pretty much every landscape photographer (myself included, sometimes) seems to be focused on these days. Keep it up!

    =Matt=

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I’ve gone back and forth on this one, but the left edge also bothers me, and I was actively debating that while setting up the composition. I used my normal lens for this one and used some rear movements to enlarge the mountains a bit in the background. I think this is an area I will return to in future years and see if I can find a way to work this scene. It’s quite impressive how much the sand can change up on those ridges, so it will be a reinvented scene next year.

      Also, my view on this photo is perhaps shaped by some photos I took later in the trip, also with my normal lens. But I won’t give away too much. 😉

  3. JAMES WILSON Says:

    You can’t be Goodnight Journal, Kuyper already has it.

    JFW

    >

  4. Chris Kayler Says:

    As always, can’t wait to watch the next videos as your days progress! Dig the new Toyota, btw😀

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks! The new truck works very well for my shooting trips, though I fill it up VERY fast with gear. By the end of a trip, it’s a mess and no longer organized the way I would like. On each trip, I try to come up with ways to be more efficient with my packing.

Leave a Reply

