Zion 2013: Day 6

On Day 6 of my trip to Zion National Park, I spent time scouting the washes on the east side of the park, then returned to the canyon floor with a particular shot in mind.

Life Everlasting | Fuji Velvia 50 8x10 | Nikkor 150mm SW

Life Everlasting | Fuji Velvia 50 8×10 | Nikkor 150mm SW

10 Responses to “Zion 2013: Day 6”

  1. David Patterson Says:

    OK… not sure I can articulate why, but the photograph you made this day is one of my favorites from you. Thanks for sharing.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks David! This is one of those scenes that spoke to me, but in a very quiet sort of way… so quiet that I almost didn’t hear it. Several people passed by me while I was setting up my camera, and they thought I was photographing Angels Landing, or some of the other huge cliffs towering over me. It’s strange how some subjects, when isolated in a photograph, seem so much stronger than when you simply pass by them by on a trail.

  2. bob francella Says:

    Beautiful shot Ben, I enjoyed it very much

  3. David Richter (@richter_photo) Says:

    For me, this is the strongest piece from this trip, Ben. It has a certain quality to it that is quite unique and hard to really put into words. The storytelling qualities of the shot are on-par with the subtle beauty of it. Certainly one of my favorites from you, along with “Soul of the Ancients”.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks David! I too struggled to put into words what I felt when I saw this scene, but I liked how it wasn’t an “in your face” and “over the top” sort of scene. It was the subtle details that tell the story, but in some nice calm reflected light.

  4. Roger Aure Says:

    This is your strongest photo from this trip to Zion in my opinion. It captures Zion very well.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Roger! There is a certain level of honesty in this photo that I was really drawn to. Rather than trying to force a scene to be something it isn’t, I was able to capture what really was there.

  5. Jose Suro Says:

    Excellent light and composition on this one. I love it.

    Screams B&W to me with the wonderful lightness of the fallen tree and surrounding grasses in relationship to the more muted shades of the standing trees and background, and the natural vignetting of the corners from the light falloff of the wide angle lens.

    Maybe you should carry just one holder with B&W film with you. Excellent image!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Jose. I really do want to start shooting some B&W alongside color to start experimenting with it. It’s a whole new learning curve for me, but I really should just jump in and start making some mistakes so I can learn.

Leave a Reply

