Zion 2013: Day 2

This is my video journal from day 2 of my 2013 trip to Zion National Park.

3 Responses to “Zion 2013: Day 2”

  1. Laura Zirino Says:

    I definitely feel your pain, and I came to the same conclusion-to look at less than desirable conditions as the opportunity to be creative. Looking forward to the next episode, wonderfully produced as always!

  2. Nils Karlson Says:

    Hi Ben,
    I usually try to avoid these equipment related questions (i really do!), but I am curious about this Polaroid camera which can be seen in this video.
    I often use my phone camera for sketches before the film camera does “the real thing”, but I really miss this special feeling of a “real” picture with the phonecam.

    Thank you so much for doing what you do, this is one of the very few (more than just) photoblogs I read. You are a such a good story-teller in video and in written words, and your pictures (as well as your philosophy) really touch a string – very peaceful and quiet (which I need right now, as I am writing this from Siem Reap, one of the most un-quiet places I ever visited).
    Again, thanks a lot!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Nils,

      Thanks for the comment and the kind words! The camera you see in that video is a Fuji Instax 210. It’s a very fun camera to work with, though it does require a lot of light. Shooting in anything other than direct sunlight is difficult. I bring that camera with me on scouting hikes. I use the photos for the hand written thank you card that I mail out to the people who have donated to my blog over the course of the year. I took a bunch of photos in Death Valley recently, and will also take photos on the rest of my trips this year. It’s a fun way to show my gratitude.

Leave a Reply

