Colorado Plateau 2013: Day 3

This is an image I almost skipped for fear of two things. First and foremost, this location is very precarious — I was unsure if I would be able to safely reach it with a heavy pack. Secondly, I was concerned about the strenuous hike back to my car in the increasingly hot weather. I didn’t want to push my body beyond its limit, so I contemplated an early departure to avoid hiking during the midday heat. Such an early start would rule out this shot all together.

On the night before my departure, I decided it would be smart to skip this shot — but when morning arrived I had a change of heart. I decided to at least hike all the way to the precarious stretch of trail, and see if it was possible with my pack on. It was a bit of a scramble, but I made it without issue. After shooting this photo, I hiked back to Neon canyon where my campsite was, then packed my gear for the nearly 4 mile return hike to my car. It was a brutal hike with 90lbs of gear on my back and a 1,000 foot elevation gain. I’m glad I decided to visit the location that morning, otherwise this would have been only a memory.

Varnished Soul | Ebony RW810 | Nikkor 300mm | Velvia 50 (8x10) | ~12sec @ f/64

Varnished Souls | Ebony RW810 | Nikkor 300mm | Velvia 50 (8×10) | ~12sec @ f/64

2 Responses to “Colorado Plateau 2013: Day 3”

  1. bob Says:

    Great video Ben, my god the scenery is absolutely beautiful, you could get lost out there and nobody would find you. If ti was me, I would take a helicopter in take the pictures and fly out ha ha, great job buddy.

  2. rakmaya Says:

    I am a big fan of yours who just got into the LF 5×7. Do you have any recommendation for good labs for neg/trans on 5×7 ?

Leave a Reply

