Death Valley 2013: Day 2

Day 2 was certainly an interesting day. Be sure to watch all the way through the credits for a fun surprise at the end.

6 Responses to “Death Valley 2013: Day 2”

  1. Tyler Knowlton Says:

    Is a beautiful image no matter what you say about it. my wife and I really enjoyed your surprise at the end.

  2. Chad Vercio Says:

    It is a beautiful shot. One of my favorites of your dunes, the curves are undulating!

  3. Eric Says:

    Your thoughts on even failed shots being a learning experience makes a lot of sense, and I think it is something rather unique to large format.

    With digital and smaller roll film formats, it is easy to fire off dozens of shots, bracketing to get the perfect exposure. I found that I didn’t learn very much that way, as I picked the best result and moved on. With the more limited and careful approach to large format, each photo becomes a priceless lesson, no matter if it is successful or not.

    In doing my own large format landscapes, I often feel that each trip is more a “learning experience” than anything else, even when I do walk away with a composition I am happy with.

  4. Laura Says:

    I liked this shot better than the first one-the lines and the way the light falls is really interesting, almost like an abstract. I wish you’d post this shot so I could compare them.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I think this scene has a lot of potential, but it may take another trip to fully realize that shot I had in mind. Just as you mentioned, the layers of this scene are very interesting, but the resulting shot just didn’t have the balance I was hoping for. Maybe I’ll have better luck next year when the dunes move around a bit. I look forward to giving it another try.

  5. Jon Says:

    I couldn’t help but feel the shot may have really worked well as a vertical composition. The lead line was fantastic but the upper left corner of the frame was an area that contributed nothing else on the shot.
    I’m enjoying your work, very different to my own. I’m surprised you wait so long after sunset.

    Jon

Leave a Reply

