Zion 2012: Day 5

Day 5 was my last full day in Zion National Park. You’ll notice that I’ve posted two videos today. The first is my video journal, and the second is something a bit different — it relates to something I’ve mentioned here on my blog in the past.

When I view my film for the first time, I’m often disappointed with the results. As time passes, my perception of my own work changes and I become more satisfied with the results. I set up a couple video cameras, and filmed my initial thoughts while viewing the film for the first time.

Thank you so much to everyone who has followed along on my journey, and also to those who have so graciously contributed. I look forward to sharing my next trip!

 

 

Kodak Ektar 100 8x10 | 20sec @ f/45 | Nikkor 150mm SW | Ebony RW810

Kodak Ektar 100 8×10 | 20sec @ f/45 | Nikkor 150mm SW | Ebony RW810

ziongrandview2

Kodak Ektar 100 8×10 | 50 sec @ f/45 | Nikkor 300mm | Ebony RW810 | Polarizer

9 Responses to “Zion 2012: Day 5”

  1. Bob Ross Says:

    That river reflection shot is gorgeous!

  2. tylerknowltonphotography Says:

    Thank you for your honesty, and showing the “surprises”. I really enjoyed the film review video.

  3. Doug Dolde Says:

    Takes me back to shooting 4×5 transparency film. Lots of disappointments, a few keepers. I’m still predicting your move to medium format digital so you can stop torturing yourself.

  4. Chad Vercio Says:

    Thanks for allowing us to view the opening of the film. I’ve had those same reactions (and develop my film at the same lab, I noticed the stickers). It’s disappointing when you hope you got a really great shot and then underexposed it!

    The two shots you posted today are excellent. I loved the water reflections in the one.

  5. Karl Says:

    The Maple Grove shot is lovely.

  6. Andrew Says:

    While I realize it’s little consolation, it’s a good place to be in your photography when your “sucks” shots are the envy of your peers.

    It means you’re doing most of it exceedingly well, but are still motivated to improve.

    As always, thank you for for the great videos.

  7. Laura Says:

    Hey Ben, I’m going to Zion in 5 weeks for night shooting and looking at that sunstar shot made me think it would look awesome with the stars between the cliffs. Shoot me an e-mail where that was taken (and I promise to tread very, very lightly!).

  8. Mike Putnam Says:

    Ben, your idea to feature videos on your blog is wonderful. Good for you. It was bold of you to video the grand opening of your film. I’d be too nervous. Whenever I open a box of freshly processed transparencies, I feel like a child on Christmas Morning and sometimes Santa is good to me and sometimes not! Keep up the great work.
    Mike Putnam

  9. Eric Says:

    Those are some great compositions. I can sympathize with the initial disappointment. I guess that’s what makes the keepers truly special. I always tell people I’m going to a place to experience it and enjoy my surroundings. Any photos I bring back are just icing on the cake.

    To be honest, I would take any less-than-perfect film shot over the sanitized and boring digital photo any day.

Leave a Reply

