Zion 2012: Day 4

On day 4 of my trip to Zion, I returned to the maple grove I scouted on day 3, then captured two images on the 8×10. As usual, please watch my video journal to hear my commentary on the day, and see some of the sights and sounds of this great park.

Fuji Velvia 8x10 | 20 sec @ f/45 | Nikkor 300mm | Ebony RW810

Fuji Velvia 8×10 | 20 sec @ f/45 | Nikkor 300mm | Ebony RW810

Fuji Velvia 50 8x10 | 15 seconds @ f/64 | Nikkor 300mm | Ebony RW810

Fuji Velvia 50 8×10 | 15 seconds @ f/64 | Nikkor 300mm | Ebony RW810

 

7 Responses to “Zion 2012: Day 4”

  1. Joel Truckenbrod Says:

    What a profound place. I found myself moved, despite never actually being there. Funny you mentioned B&W at the end of the video…I was seeing potential images just in the video footage. Also – The second image you showed in the video (but didn’t post directly on the blog) looks pretty steller…I actually may like it more than the first. Keep up the good work sir. Best wishes for 2013!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Joel. Your comments are always greatly appreciated. The thing I love about Zion is that I can go there every year, and always find a shot that makes me want to come back again. I have updated the blog post with the second photo as well. I don’t think I will end up using either one in my portfolio, but I see them as a study for when I return next year.

      When I’m done posting all my daily journals from Zion, I’ll post a video journal that shows my reaction to viewing my film for the first time. I set up a video camera, and recorded the process of going through the film. I know you’ll be able to relate to that, and I’m sure much of the thought process will be similar.

  2. cynthia92126 Says:

    Breathtaking photography and video. I love that you respect the land and all it has to offer, by not disclosing the location.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thank you Cynthia. Part of my photographic process is returning to the same locations year by year, and seeing what happens to these locations. The panoramic maple photo in my portfolio from 2010 was an absolutely pristine grove when I visited there, and I felt a bit guilty as I walked through there. I was careful not to disturb anything, and I even walked in a way so other people wouldn’t try to follow my foot steps. When I visited this same grove this year, there were human trails that cross crossed the hillside, and the lush green grass was replaced by barren soil. I stood for a moment where I shot the photo, and it was sad to see that the image no longer existed. I was careful not to disclose the location in 2010, but now I felt it was best to not even bring my video camera with me.

  3. bob Says:

    Great job Ben, a feel your concern by keeping the place where you visit a secret, but today with more people buying cameras, and their younger and stronger and can go backpacking, you will find more and more people out there stomping to the woods. I hope they have an show the same respect that you have shown, but you’re not really going to be able to stop progress. Love the photo and the video keep up the good work.

  4. Nicholas Says:

    Really enjoy these videos, but I do agree with some others’ comments as to you explaining your composition. Of course, you couldn’t do that in the maple groves if you don’t want to disclose the location ( which I completely understand). On another note, did you buy a wider angle lens like a 120mm so you could capture that shot you attempted to get last year?

  5. Laura Says:

    Another great journey. Echoing everyone else in keeping the grove location a secret. When I was in Zion last fall I saw some beautiful groves and wondered if one of them was your grove, but not knowing for sure made me get out and explore more since I didn’t have an exact location in mind. I also saw lots of people trampling around, clearly not being mindful of their impact on the environment. Looking forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

