Coyote Gulch 2012: Day 1

This past October, I teamed up with large format photographer Shane Dignum for an ambitious backpacking trip through Coyote Gulch in Southern Utah. Those of you who have followed my blog in the past will notice some changes. Rather than including both a written journal and video journal, I am shifting toward a video-only format. I find it much easier to tell the story of each trip with video, and I hope you enjoy this series as much as I enjoyed making it.

10 Responses to “Coyote Gulch 2012: Day 1”

  1. bob Says:

    I like video instead of reading, now you have to show the video?

  2. Joel Truckenbrod Says:

    Moving completely to video makes sense to me, with the possible exception of posting some corresponding images from the trip. Great introduction to this one, Ben. I look forward to seeing how this adventure unfolded for you!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Great to hear from you Joel! I’ll definitely be posting images alongside the video. I love the story telling ability of video, but it absolutely kills image quality.

  3. Roger Aure Says:

    Great! Looking forward to this. I was planning a 3 day trip in Coyote Gulch last May, but did not happen for various reasons. This will probably make me pull out the plans again.

  4. Nick Says:

    I’m looking forward to this, Ben. The video only format should work well for you in telling the story of your trips.

  5. Rick Lanning Says:

    Yet another great trip “Into The Wild” with Ben Horne. I can’t wait to see the rest of the story.

  6. Jeremiah Says:

    More please. I really like the format

  7. Arnaud Says:

    Can’t wait to see the first pictures.. On my side i really liked reading you as well. But i have to say both the reading and video always make me want to go

  8. Laura Says:

    I definitely enjoyed the written story because it was so well done but whatever makes it easier to get these up works for me! I am beyond excited to see Coyote Gulch because a friend and I too missed seeing it this past year. Looking forward to Episode 2!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      With the amount of voice over work I needed to do on this trip, I was able to tell the entire story with video. When it came to write the entries, I really didn’t have anything else to say so I decided to go video-only. The written recaps might return on future trips, we’ll see how it all works out.

Leave a Reply

