Colorado Plateau 2011: Day 8

Sunday, June 19, 2011

The events of day 8 are best told with video. Enjoy.

Here’s a behind the scenes look of how to almost destroy a video camera…

10 Responses to “Colorado Plateau 2011: Day 8”

  1. Michael Lordi (@Scout327) Says:

    Well worth the wait Ben (18 days, but who’s counting 😉 )! Being skunked on the stills has not stopped your video creativity, love it!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I was hoping to get the video done before my trip up to washington/oregon and have it auto-released right on schedule, but that fell through the cracks. Think of my blog posts as wine — the longer you wait, the better they are…. or some crap like that. These are mostly just excuses. 🙂

  2. Roger Aure Says:

    Sacrificing the equipment for the viewers. You are stepping up in production cost :o) Enjoy following your adventures, looking forward to the sequel!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      The amazing thing is that my Panasonic TS3 survived without so much as a scratch. It took 3 impacts to the ground at 25MPH. I was amazed.

  3. Laura Says:

    At least you kept your sense of humor! ;o)

  4. Doug Dolde Says:

    Does this mean 8 days without a shower ? 🙂

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Actually, I used a solar shower setup a few times. I just left it out, and the water was quite warm when I got back to camp.

  5. Adam Allegro Says:

    Pretty cool videos. Suck about your camera, but the video was pretty neat – and it survived! Do you only Shoot 8×10?

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I’m still surprised that there wasn’t a mark on the camera from that incident. It looks brand new despite smacking into the ground a few times at about 25mph!

      I try to use the 8×10 as much as possible. I started with a 4×5, but I haven’t used it much lately. I just love the detail I can capture on 8×10. My second most used camera is a Fuji GX617 panoramic camera that used medium format film. That camera comes in handy for chaotic scenes.

Leave a Reply

