Pardon the Silence

Alright, you got me. I was away from the wheel for a while. I’ll be posting day 8 of my Colorado Plateau trip soon.

So what was the reason for the delay? I just got back from a fantastic trip to the Pacific Northwest with my beautiful fiancée Lyuba. This was not a photography trip, but we enjoyed 10 days of camping, hiking, and getting familiar with the area. I’m already planning my return trip next year.

And yes… planking on a sharp branch of a fallen pine tree is quite painful. I do it for you folks. Enjoy.

8 Responses to “Pardon the Silence”

  1. Iluminado Delgado Says:

    Ouch!!! Thanks for the pain Ben. We all appreciate it!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I have many more planking shots where that came from. I loved the lushness of the background for that one though. Planking in the Hoh — that sounds I’m speaking another language.

  2. Arnaud Says:

    Hey Ben,
    Or should i say “fakir” Ben? Looks like you had great fun. Can’t wait to see more of your pictures…

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Definitely a very fun trip! I look forward to heading back up to the Pacific NN for some shooting (and backpacking with my 8×10) next year.

  3. bob Says:

    Ben, tell the truth, you were so busy looking at your girlfriend that you didn’t see the branch and fell over it, fees up to it.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      She was too busy laughing at my inability to plank on a sharp branch. She’s a great planker though — a true natural.

  4. Michael Lordi (@Scout327) Says:

    Great form on the planking! It looks like if you had stayed in that position a while longer, that you would have had moss growing from you.
    Looking forward to the rest of your Colorado Basin trip!!!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I will admit to using photoshop’s liquify filter to help improve my form a bit. Perhaps the outtakes are better than the final result. I nearly fell off that branch a few times. My fiancee is a natural planker though. She has great form, and I even had to talk her out of a few planking shots. Oh, and did I mention that she’s a faster hiker than me? We covered some serious mileage, and I had to tell her to slow down a few times.

Leave a Reply

