ArtWalk 2011 Recap

Thanks so much to everyone who made it out to the show.  It was a very busy weekend, and I was able to talk to quite a few people who follow my blog. I displayed 6 photos this year, a mix of old and new work. In particular, my La Jolla print was well received.

A lot of work goes into the preparation for these shows.  From print making to hauling around my setup, these shows keep me on my feet. Just a bit of trivia here, the entire setup, including the walls and the prints fit in the back of my 4Runner.  Pretty impressive huh?  That truck does a great job getting me where I need to go, and getting my display to the show!

I don’t think many of the visitors noticed, but I had my Panasonic video camera super clamped to a metal rail 10 feet overhead.  It was filming a timelapse of my booth for several hours on day 2.  I’ve woven that into the recap video.

For those who are expressed strong interest in my work, I want to make sure you saw the ArtWalk deal I posted on the price chart.  I’ll cover your sales tax if you finalize your purchase within the next 7 days. I truly appreciate any and all sales of my work. I love producing these prints, and it would be an honor for you to display them in your home or office.

This leads me to my next topic. After all this hard work, I have to reward myself somehow. I need to dangle something in front of my face, a reward for putting in all the long hours preparing for this event. What could such a reward be? Perhaps another shooting trip in the near future.  🙂   After talking to so many people, I’m definitely inspired to get out to the back country, and bring home some more shots.

So, where did I select for my next trip?  You’ll find out in time.  As usual, I’ll be doing my daily videos to tell the story.

6 Responses to “ArtWalk 2011 Recap”

  1. codyfodale Says:

    very nice! i hope i can get some of my work there next time.

    cody

  2. Doug Says:

    Great video and some very nice work. I hope you made some sales….likely you spent a small fortune on prints, framing, and flush mounts.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Doug. A small fortune was indeed spent, but I just love seeing them in print. Sales were definitely good. I certainly look forward to the next show!

  3. Joshua Warrender Says:

    Very cool Ben. Looks like you had pretty steady traffic in your booth. I am curious who you have doing your prints and face mounting? I have a guess. If you don’t want that public, feel free to email me if you don’t mind sharing. I have a couple of shots I want to try it out with. Looks great on your vid.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Joshua,

      I use digital one for all of my production work. They handle both the prints and the flush mounting. For the framed pieces, D1 does the print, and then I take it to a local frame shop.

Leave a Reply

