Thank You

I want to extend a heartfelt thank you to my blog readers. Creating this content is a blast, and I’m glad others enjoy it. I love being able to share my experiences with you guys.

I walk a fine line by sharing the large format experience. It is easy to come across as arrogant (look at me with my hoity-toity wooden camera!) , but I think I have avoided that. Sure, some people who follow my blog are large format shooters, but the vast majority of my readers shoot digital.

I plan on getting a digital SLR again for those fast shots (Where are you 5D3?), but large format will always be my primary format. This is photography at its most simple state. The camera is a tool, and limitation breeds creativity.

As many of you know, this isn’t about the camera — it’s about the experience. Shutter speeds, f-stops, and ISO transcend all formats of photography. This is about photography, love of the craft, and exploring the beauty of the natural world.

My goal is to share my triumphs, my failures, and the lessons I’ve learned. I hope to convey the feeling of being there, and the excitement of getting the shot.

Let’s face it, photography requires a perfect balance of technical knowledge, and artistic vision. Beginning photographers are often overwhelmed by the technical side, but it gets easier with practice. I hope my video journals and trip recaps contain useful shooting information.

If I didn’t truly enjoy photography, I wouldn’t be doing this. I put my heart into photography, and I’m glad it shows. I am in a unique position to take frequent shooting trips. I hope this gets others excited about the outdoors, and photography.

I strive to keep my blog free of commercial postings and ads. I’m not here to sell you anything. Even if I offer workshops or ebooks in the future, I will not use my blog as a sales platform. That would only distract from the stories and experiences I have to share. If you would like to support me, my blog, and my photographic journey, I appreciate all donations — no matter how small they may seem. Thank you so much everyone who has contributed thus far. I truly appreciate it!

So here’s to a great audience.  Thanks for reading, and I look forward to sharing more of my journey.

In the coming week, I will be sharing my experience with Kodak Ektar vs. Fuji Velvia. I’ve had several people inquire about this. Spoiler alert: Me likey!

11 Responses to “Thank You”

  1. Lumi Says:

    No Ben. Thank You for sharing your God given talent and passion with the rest of us. It is not easy to document and write about the experience the way you do to share with us. Hope you can continue to enjoy your passion and I can’t wait for the next lesson about films.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks for the kind words Lumi. I’m already looking forward to my next trip. I have now clue where it will be, but I’m still looking forward to it!

  2. scout327 Says:

    Well said Ben!
    The technical knowledge, while not easy, can at least be measured. It’s artistic vision which challenges me. This is where reading your thoughts has been a great help. Just slowing down and considering each frame, as opposed to a shotgun approach, is really helping me so far. It makes the whole process more enjoyable and the results more rewarding!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I’m a big believer that limitation is important for creativity. You learn to work with what you have, and find some sort of a composition that works. The extra time spent finding that composition helps you discover other aspects of the subject.

      It sure is a fun process!

  3. Simon Hillier Says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog Ben, the tales of your travels and efforts is an inspiration.

    From the moment you leave the comfort of your home to go on an epic journey camping out under the stars in close to freezing conditions, setting up your shot the night before, up at 3am to locate your camera in the dark using the wonder of GPS ? How can any normal weekend warrior “togger” not be inspired ?

    Your site makes me want to get a 5×4 view camera full stop.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Simon. I love being out there and shooting. It’s also a great way to get rid of any stress. It’s hard not to relax when you’re focused on getting a shot, and spending much of the day hiking around.

      By all means, get yourself a 4×5. They’re very fun to work with. It’s nice to own a camera that won’t be replaced with an upgraded version next year. 🙂

  4. Jeff Preston Says:

    As a recently re-born film photographer (RB67 Pro S), yours is one of the few blogs I read. I really like your approachable demeanor, your conversational writing style and your overall artistry. Please continue taking us along on your journeys. I’ll look you up if I ever get back to Cali from mostly-boring Ohio.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Jeff! The RB67 is definitely a workhorse. I love the sound of the shutter on that camera! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog, and I hope to produce some fun content on my next trip. I still haven’t planned it yet, but it’ll likely be sometime during May or June.

  5. Nicolas Belokurov Says:

    Thank you Ben for all the great reading and the inspiration. Since I started with 4×5 shooting I’ve become a very frequent guest on your blog. The videos, the travels, the texts just keep getting better. Hope you have a great summer season ahead.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Nicolas. I look forward to continuing the tradition with my next trip! I suppose I should probably figure out where that will be. 🙂

  6. Laura Says:

    Echoing all the comments here! As a nontechnical person who is overwhelmed by that side, I find all your notes and comments EXTREMELY helpful and elucidating (I thought I was the only one who had to visit a site multiple times to get a shot I was happy with, and was attributing it to inexperience. Now I see that’s just the way it goes!). Reading your journal makes me inspired to spend the rest of my life chasing the perfect shot, and I hope I never get it.

Leave a Reply

