First Rain Hike of the Season

Here in San Diego, rain is a rare commodity. Our wet season is October through March — though it is not guaranteed.  Last winter, we had an El Nino pattern, which resulted in higher than average rain fall.  This year, they are predicting a dry winter.  Many of the storms will stay north of San Diego.

When a rainy day falls on the weekend, I head up to the mountains for a rain hike.  I enjoy the experience of hiking through the mountains during a light rain.  The forest comes alive to the senses with the scent of plants, and the sounds of wildlife.

Sunday was my first rain hike of the season.  I drove through the blinding fog and steady rain to an area of Rancho Cuyamaca State Park that I had not been to before. I was wearing waterproof pants, goretex boots, and a waterproof jacket.

As I arrived at the trailhead, I noticed something very odd: Blue sky.  The white knuckle ride up the mountain through rain and fog had deceived me.  It was warm, birds were chirping, and there was a slight breeze.

The rain clouds  pushed up against the mountain, but were unable to make it over the top.

So much for the rain hike.

I took off my jacket, put on some sunscreen, and hit the trail.

Leave a Reply

