Packing Large Format

I’ve had several people ask me how I carry my photo gear when hiking.  I prepared a short video to show first hand what I do.  There are not too many purpose built solutions on the market, but my method works quite well.

4 Responses to “Packing Large Format”

  1. Tom Nevesely Says:

    Great video Ben! Although I don’t anymore, I shot with a 4×5 for a little while and packed in a similar way to you.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      It really would be nice if one of the camera bag companies came up with something what would allow for a great harness, and a super lightweight bag that has just the right amount of protection.

  2. Nicolas Belokurov Says:

    Very good video Ben. I pack my 4×5 gear in a very similar way (of course with a lot of free space left). I do find the hard plastic food containers to be a GREAT way to protect lenses in the pack. There are hundreds of models on the market, it’s pretty easy to find one to accommodate a mounted lens.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Great idea for the hard plastic food containers. I hadn’t thought about that. I had a few of the lens wraps sitting around for other purposes, and found them to be ideal. A hard container would help give them a bit more rigidity though.

Leave a Reply

