ArtWalk on the Bay: Day 1

Thanks everyone who stopped by my booth at ArtWalk on the bay.  Two photos in particular were very popular, “Grand Prismatic” and “Approaching Storm.”  It was great talking art, photography, and everything else. Just as a reminder for those who are interested in purchasing my prints, I will cover the sales tax for all orders placed until September 21st (one week after artwalk).  Thanks for your support!

6 Responses to “ArtWalk on the Bay: Day 1”

  1. Nicolas Belokurov Says:

    Great to see you back Ben. Hope you’ll start posting frequently again.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      I’m almost in the home stretch for getting back out there again. 🙂 In November I’m heading to Zion for fall color, so I’ll be doing the usual daily video/text journals for that trip. I always enjoy doing that — it gives me something to do, and to think about while on the trips.

  2. Nicolas Belokurov Says:

    Great, I really found your piece about not getting frustrated with LF and have a mental attitude towards a possible failure at all time EXTREMELY helpful. I just got my first field camera a week ago and for the first time in my life I’m developing BW at home from the start up. Just after few days of small mistakes (not leaving a correct f number, not tilting enough, not developing for enough time, etc) I’m finally developing this attitude myself, and I have to admit it feels great just to go ahead, shoot a scene and relax enjoying the nature without the anxiety of shooting 45 digital duplicates trying to back up and rebackup any possible mistake during the capture. It definitely takes a lot of courage just to man up, shoot, fold the camera and admit a possible screw up.
    Oh and those huge negs (not as huge as 8×10 of course) look just amazing emerging from the processing tank (if it all goes right :))

  3. Ben Horne Says:

    Congrats on the new camera! It looks like you’re already getting a hang of the process, and how every step matters. It’s great making every shot count. I think it has to do with human nature, and how we value things less with higher quantities. If you have one photo, you will value it more than 45 photos.

    My biggest “letdown” when switching to LF film was the big anti-climatic moment of taking the photo. There is the buildup of setting up the camera, finding the composition, metering the scene, and finally — tripping the shutter.

    The first few times I did this, my thought was “That’s it?”

  4. Nicolas Belokurov Says:

    Exactly, I felt the same way. After all the anti film posts we got to read everyday on the web that talk about how complicated things are, when the shutter finally clicks, you do feel like something is missing. But I have to say that after a while, it really gets very natural.
    I’ll be trying chromes soon, they only process them in Buenos Aires here, far far away from home, so the better be good!
    Jack Brauer, Joel Truckenbrod and you with galleries and blogs have really motivated me to view the LF like a totally normal instrument rather than an “old man” hobby.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      You’re definitely correct in your comment that many people think of LF as an “Old Man” hobby, complete with a long gray beard. In this day of big images with impact, there is definitely far more to it. One of my goals by shooting LF is to expose people to the final prints, and make this art form “sexy” and relevent. I’m glad my blog provided you with inspiration to try it out. As you’ve already found it, it’s a very gratifying process.

      Shooting transparency on LF is likely one least forgiving endeavors when it comes to photography. Exposure needs to be dead on. If anything, I prefer to overexpose just a hair. This makes the transparencies easier to scan, though it’s definitely walking a thin line. I’m very lucky that there is a place 3 blocks from my work that develops up to 8×10 transparencies. Having them processed in Buenos Aires certainly adds a lot more time to the process. I bet the anticipation is killer!

Leave a Reply

