A Year in Review

2009 has been a great year for me.  The slow economy has allowed me to take plenty of time off work, and get out in the back country. This was my first full year of shooting large format. I have enjoyed the switch back to film, and don’t plan on changing a thing in 2010.  I learned so much, and hope the learning process never ends.

Last year, I began an annual tradition of publishing a very high quality book of my photography.  These sleek red leather books are given as Christmas gifts to family and friends.  To those who received one last year, I don’t think I’m spoiling much of a surprise by posting this.  Guess what? You’re getting a 2009 version.

Assembling this book is a very good exercise.  It allows me to sort through my photos from the past year, and see what I have learned on my photographic journey. Although I was quite happy with the book I created for 2008, this year’s book is significantly better.

Last year, I struggled to choose 20 photos for the book.  Even though I shot so many images that year, it was difficult to select 20 images that I was very happy with.

This year, selecting the images was not a problem.

Here’s to 2009, a year that I will not soon forget.

Leave a Reply

