Great News

Surreal Stonework | Velvia 50 8x10 | Nikkor 450mm | Coyote Buttes South

Today, I received some great news. I was hand picked as a featured artist in this year’s Mission Federal ArtWalk here in San Diego. Last year, there were just 12 featured artists out of the hundreds of participants. Most of the artists at this event are painters, so I believe it’s quite an honor for a photographer to be a featured artist. This means that I will have more prominent placement on the website and printed material, as well as possible media attention.

For the past few months, this upcoming event has been on my mind.  I have twice as much space as last year, so the pressure is on for me to come up with several more large prints.  I have already selected 3 of the images that I will print BIG this year.  Depending on what I come up with during my February trip to Death Valley and Northern Arizona (Yeah, I know…  Northern Arizona again?), I might have even more work to show.

I have put a lot of effort into my photography over the past year, so it is awesome to receive this recognition.

6 Responses to “Great News”

  1. David Patterson Says:

    Congratulations… very well deserved. Can’t wait to see what you come back with on your February trips.

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks as always David. I’m anxious to hit the road again for another shooting trip. You never quite know how the weather will be that time of year. That’s why I enjoy it.

  2. Bob Duff Says:

    Good on you Ben. You have worked hard this past year and the results show. Not only have you learned the intricacies of the large format relm but you are now a master of using your 8×10 as an elk shield.🙂

    • Ben Horne Says:

      The Elk Shield certainly was a learning experience. Who would have thought? I’m not sure it will work quite as well on animals without antlers, bears for example. 🙂

  3. Jose Suro Says:

    Congratulations!! The hardest thing now is to pick the images for the show. Many top artists comment that personal editing is the hardest thing to do. I know you will do well! Sent you a PM on another topic….

    Best,

    Jose

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks Jose! It’s excellent to hear from you as always. I’m anxious to hear about your results with B&W.

Leave a Reply

