Return from Zion

zionnarrows2

I really enjoyed my 10 days in Zion National Park. Just as I had planned, my visit to the park coincided with the peak fall color. It is amazing how the Cottonwood, and other trees in the park turn neon yellow, especially when back lit by the sun. It proved to be difficult finding very simple compositions of the trees against the red rock.

During my time there, I was able to scout several locations that proved to be very photogenic. It was a matter of planning for the right light conditions, and waiting for the right moment. The weather cooperated for most of the trip, though I did have quite a bit of high clouds in the past few days. For the subjects I chose to shoot, clear skies were ideal.

I had the pleasure of meeting at least half a dozen photographers that I know through FredMiranda.com , as well as NPN. Overall, I spent 5 days in the Narrows, one day at Subway, and several days scouting out the rest of the canyon.

I have already received some of my film back from the lab, and have been happy with the results so far. My trip to Zion a month prior proved to be excellent preparation for this trip. The first trip allowed me to become more familiar with the location, as well as figure out what photographic equipment was necessary. In the next few days, I will be posting some more images from my trip.

Leave a Reply

