Canon 7D

Those that pay attention to my blog even in the smallest amount know that I am shooting 100% with film. At this point, I really don’t have any desire for digital, but I know I will be jumping back into digital for some small scale print sizes in the next few years.  I had the opportunity to play with the new Canon 7D a few days ago, and I must say that I am impressed with Canon’s new body style.  The ergonomics are greatly improved over the 40D/50D series.

The 7D hand grip has a very large finger notch on the front grip.  This makes the camera feel more secure.  Also, the area on the back of the camera where the thumb rests is quite comfortable. I really cannot comment on the image quality because I did not look at any images from the camera.  However, I think Canon has done their homework when it comes to ergonomics. It is safe to say that the replacement for the 5D mark II (in one or two years) will share similar ergonomics, but with a full frame sensor.

Leave a Reply

