Getting Skunked

It happens to us all sometime.  You plan a fabulous trip, and nature just does not cooperate. It can be frustrating.

There are times that I will visit a location, and walk home without any shots that I am happy with. It may be a bit discouraging at first, but I view it as a learning experience. I enjoy being out in nature, and getting away from civilization. I am perfectly content not taking a shot on a trip if I don’t feel the conditions are right. I would just be wasting film. There is something to be said about the beauty of the moment, even if it isn’t particularly photogenic.  Even if a sunset is  colorless and smothered by clouds, I enjoy the smell of evening, and the calm wind that sweeps over the land.

If it was not meant to be, that is okay with me. There is usually a reason why.  Perhaps the sunset tomorrow will be far better, and that’s nature’s way of telling me to stick around for the big show.

Life is short. That is why I try to enjoy every moment of it. Even if we cannot photograph certain moments, it is nice to sit back, and enjoy our time in the outdoors.

Leave a Reply

