The Importance of Monitor Calibration

Ribbons of GoldI prefer to print my photos very large for maximum impact. The print size is often limited only by my ability to transport the prints in my Toyota 4Runner.  As one might imagine, it can be very expensive to produce such prints.  As a result, it is imperative that the images are as accurate as possible.  The most important step of this process is proper monitor calibration. I strongly suggest the Eye One Display 2 by x-rite. I can trust that the image on my 23″ apple cinema display will match the print from the pro lab that I use. I have both my desktop and my laptop calibrated.  It is important to note that laptop screens are inferior to desktop monitors. Even with proper calibration, you should NEVER trust a laptop screen for critical work.  I have seen the results of this first hand.  If you plan to use a laptop as your primary image editing machine, do yourself a favor, and get a high quality external monitor.

This image was the most difficult to edit for print because of the deep shadow regions. The shadows need to have just the right amount of tonality because of the reflected light that gives a reddish glow.  If the shadows were too dark, the glow would not be apparent, and if the shadows were too light, the print would look awkward.

With proper monitor calibration, I was able to tweak the image to my liking.  I was very happy to see that the shadow regions were properly represented in print. At the last showing of mine, this is the image that attracted people to my exhibit.

(Toyo 45AII | 75mm nikkor | Velvia 50 4×5 | Unrecorded Exposure)

Leave a Reply

