Death Valley 2014: Day 5

On Day 5 of my trip to Death Valley, I returned to my camera that spent the night on the salt flats, and tried for a morning shot. This also marked my last full day in Death Valley. Thank you everyone who has followed along on this adventure. I’m already gearing up for my next trip, and I look forward to sharing the results in a couple months. 

firstlightdd_fm2

First Light on the Dot District | Fuji Velvia 50 8×10 | Nikkor 150mm SW

3 Responses to “Death Valley 2014: Day 5”

  1. Ron Carroll Says:

    Really enjoyed watching all the video footage from this trip, Ben. Thanks again for putting these together for all of us to enjoy. You got some great photos too, and I’m always impressed by your efforts, and your patience, to bring home home the terrific shots. Thanks too for including the out takes; they’re always fun and your sense of humor adds another, very nice, dimension to the footage. Only have one kinda technical question for you…

    How’d you get you backpack to change from red to beige in the Day 5 video?? You didn’t do it in post, youdidn’t take two packs, so I’m guessing…what?

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks for the kind words Ron! With regard to the backpack, I carry two packs with me on each trip. The read pack is for when I carry the 8×10, or when going on backpacking trips. The smaller white pack is for when I’m scouting. I put my D800 video kit in there, as well as my Fuji Instax camera. On this particular day, I knew I was done shooting after taking the morning shot, so I put my big pack in my truck, then drove to another location and checked the area out with my lightweight scouting pack. I also take several tents with me on each trip. :-)

  2. Matthew Saville Baldon Says:

    Awesome video, awesome image, awesome bonus content at the end. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

