Death Valley 2014: Day 4

On Day 4 of my trip to Death Valley, I relocated my base camp, then set out for my next photo.

 

Fuji Velvia 50 8x10 | Nikkor 150mm SW | unrecorded @ f/45

Fuji Velvia 50 8×10 | Nikkor 150mm SW | unrecorded @ f/45

5 Responses to “Death Valley 2014: Day 4”

  1. Photography Martin Says:

    Feels odd to have gone through all of your videos from the start and now be back in “real time”, having to wait for each new snippet of your adventure.

    Cheers!

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Hopefully I’ll have my next adventure up in a couple months or so. I’m already in the process of getting geared up for it. Thanks for watching!

  2. Raynor Czerwinski Says:

    Hey Ben,
    Love your work and your videos, very inspiring!

    Had a question if you don’t mind.

    I love how you keep the “twilight look” in your images that are made after/before the sun has gone down/risen.

    What I mean is, in those particular images you elegantly respect the darkness that is experienced during those times. When viewing those images, they don’t seem dark to me at all, in fact after viewing them for a while they seem quite bright…I think this is due to the darkness elsewhere in the image?

    So my questions is, (and truthfully I’m not trying to get to technical here) but what does your histogram look like for these images? is it even close to the right side of the histogram wall?

    Bottom line, I’m curious how you get such a beautiful dark mysterious look, but at the same time, they are plenty bright.

    Any insights would be greatly appreciated.

    Cheers,
    Raynor

    A few images I’m talking about: Including the one in this particular post.

    ~Genesis – Death Valley, CA
    ~The Dot District – Death Valley, CA
    ~Especially: Evening’s Embrace – Death Valley National Park, CA

    • Ben Horne Says:

      Thanks for the kind words Raynor! It took me a while to learn how to most effectively shoot during this time of day since film has a real tough time with dark exposures. I expose each scene so that I have full detail in the deepest shadows, which will sometimes make a evening/morning photo look more like a daylight photo. In this case of this photo, the image you see here is very representative of the scan. I didn’t have to darken it very much to give it that moody feel. I have just enough detail in the distant mountains to have a full tonal range.

      My original photo from the Dot District is one where the film looks like a daytime exposure, so I had to darken it down in post to restore the evening look. The same is true for Genesis and Evening’s Embrace. If I had exposed for them to be true to the darkness of the scene, they would have blocked up shadows. It’s a bit like exposing to the right with digital. Go as bright as you can to capture all the necessary tones, then darken down in post to restore the night look.

      • Raynor Czerwinski Says:

        Hey Ben,
        My apologies on the delayed response.

        Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to my question! Your approach to creating images like the ones mentioned makes perfect sense. Ill give it a go next time im out photographing in these types of lighting situations.

        Happy Shooting!

        Cheers
        Raynor

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 305 other followers

